The tumultuous history of Pakistan’s prime ministers

Published by

Since 1947 Pakistan has had a total of 29 prime ministers, yet no prime minister has completed a full five-year tenure in the country’s 75-year history. Imran Khan became the latest victim of this fragile democratic system, with the trend taking a new turn after the cricketer-turned-politician became the first prime minister of the country to be ousted through a no-confidence resolution. With Khan losing the no-trust motion, Pakistani lawmakers elected Shehbaz Sharif – the younger brother of disgraced three-time prime minister Nawaz Sharif – as the country’s new prime minister on Monday. More …

Read More