Second meeting of Parliamentary Committee on Panama Papers held

Islamabad, May 26, 2016 (PPI-OT):The Parliamentary Committee on Panama Papers etc. discussed the Terms of Reference proposed by Government and Opposition yesterday. The Opposition circulated among the members of the Committee another document titled “Joint Opposition’s submission on TORs, May 26, 2016”, to which comments of the Government side will be furnished in the next meeting.

The Committee in principle agreed on the Preamble of the Terms of Reference of the Inquiry Commission to be constituted in pursuance of the motions adopted by both Houses of Parliament. However, the differences on the wording of the Terms of Reference remain and will be discussed in subsequent meetings.

Senators Mr. Mohammad Ishaq Dar, Mr. Aitzaz Ahsan, Mir Hasil Khan Bizenjo, Mr. Muhammad Ali Saif and Mr. Ilyas Ahmad Bilour; and Members of the National Assembly Khawaja Muhammad Asif, Khawaja Saad Rafique, Ms. Anusha Rehman Khan Advocate, Makhdoom Shah Mahmood Hussain Qureshi, Sahibzada Tariq Ullah and Ch. Tariq Bashir Cheema attended the meeting as members of the Committee. Mr. Zahid Hamid, Minister for Law and Justice also attended the meeting as ex-officio member of the Committee.

The meeting was held on Thursday, the 26th May, 2016 in the Parliament House, Islamabad. The next meeting of the Committee will be held on Friday the 27th May, 2016 at 11:00 a.m. in Committee Room No. 5, Parliament House, Islamabad.

For more information, contact:
Karamat Hussain Niazi
National Assembly of Pakistan
Automation Centre,
National Assembly Secretariat,
Parliament House,
Islamabad – Pakistan
Tel: +92-51-9221082-83
Fax: +92-51-9221106