Pakistan Women’s team for series against Sri Lanka named

Lahore, December 15, 2014 (PPI-OT): Chairman PCB Shaharyar Mohammad Khan has approved the 16-member Pakistan Women’s squad, along with four standbys, for a series consisting of ODI and T20Is against the Sri Lankan Women’s team on the recommendation of Women’s selection committee.

Led by skipper Sana Mir, the Pakistan Women’s team plays three ODIs and as many T20Is at Sharjah, UAE against Sri Lanka from January 7 to 18, 2015.

It may be noted that the three ODIs are part of the qualification process for the ICC ODI Championship, which in turn is also the qualification process for the next ICC Women’s World Cup, to be held in 2018 in England.

To prepare for the six-match series, a National Women’s Training Camp is scheduled from Dec. 25, 2014 to Jan. 7, 2015 at South End Club, Karachi.


Subhan Ahmad, PCB COO:

“The Pakistan Women’s Team in recent years has made a steady progress, and it is reflected in its ever-improving ICC players and team rankings. I am sure good cricket would be on display in the six-match limited-overs rubber with Sri Lanka, and it would entertain audiences at the Sharjah Stadium so familiar to the large Pakistani expatriate community in the UAE.

“The Sharjah Cricket Stadium has a rich history, with a very large part of it contributed by Team Pakistan since its inception. I’m sure it would be as propitious a venue for our Women’s team as it has been for the Men’s over the years”.

Waleed Bukhatir, Vice-Chairman, Sharjah Cricket Council:

“Sharjah has been Pakistan’s home-away-from-home for several years. We have this season hosted several matches in Pakistan Men’s home series against Australia and New Zealand. It would be a pleasure to host Pakistan Women’s Teams entire twin rubber of ODIs and T20Is against Sri Lanka in January 2015. This rubber provides an opportunity for our women to watch top flight women’s cricket first hand, and it may inspire many to take to the game”.

The Women’s Squad:

Sana Mir, Syeda Nain Fatima Abidi, Bismah Maroof, Nida Rashid, Javeria Wadood, Sania Iqbal, Marina Iqbal, Sidra Nawaz, Asmavia Iqbal Khokhar,Qanita Jalil, Sumaiya Siddiqui, Sadia Yousaf, Kainat Imtiaz, Nahida Bibi, Iram Javed, Naila Nazir.


Aliya Riaz, Anum Amin, Sidra Amin, Rabiya Shah.

Team Management:

Manager: Ayesha Ashhar, Coach: Mauhtashim Rasheed, Trainer: Ibrar Ahmad, Physiotherapist: Rifat Asghar Gill.


Wed 7th January, 2015: Arrival of Teams

Thu 8th January, 2015: Practice Outdoor Nets

Fri 9th January, 2015: 1st ODI

Sat 10th January, 2015: Reserve Day

Sun 11th January, 2015: 2nd ODI

Mon 12th January, 2015: Reserve Day

Tue 13th January, 2015: 3rd ODI

Wed 14th January, 2015: Reserve Day

Thu 15th January, 2015: 1st T20

Fri 16th January, 2015: 2nd T20

Sat 17th January, 2015: 3rd T20

Sun 18th January, 2015: Departure of Teams

For more information, contact:
Nadeem Sarwar
Media Manager
Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB)
Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore 54600, Pakistan
Tel: +9242 571 7231 -4
Fax: +9242 571 1860

The post Pakistan Women’s team for series against Sri Lanka named appeared first on AsiaNet-Pakistan.