Islamabad Cricket Association elections held

Islamabad, June 03, 2013 (PPI-OT): Saghir Ahmed, Iqbal Pasha, Malik Tahir Khan and Nasir Iqbal were elected as Presidents of respective East, West, North and Central Zones of Islamabad Cricket Association (ICA) in a historic free, fair and transparent elections conducted by Pakistan Cricket Board Election Commissioner.

In line with implementation process of the new PCB Constitution, PCB Election Commissioner Muhammad Siddique conducted elections for four Zones of the ICA. PCB Coordinator Kashif Zahid assisted him in these elections, held first time in the Federal Capital for the four ICA Zones announced by the PCB.

In the forthcoming PCB Inter-District/Zonal (U-19) Cricket Championship, these four ICA zones in the Federal Capital will be competed each other before the Islamabad Regional Cricket Association team is formed on the basis of the performances of the youngsters in this competition.

Following are the elected office-bearers of four Zones of the ICA: East Zone – Saghir Ahmed (President), Muhammad Ismail (Secretary) and Ghazanfar Mehmood (Treasurer), West Zone – Muhammad Iqbal Pasha (President), Irfan Manzoor (Secretary) and Muhammad Shafaqat (Treasurer), North Zone – Malik Tahir Khan (President), Shabbir Ahmed (Secretary), and Zafar Iqbal Khan (Treasurer), Central Zone – Nasir Iqbal (President), Usman Saeed Malik (Secretary) and Attiq Ahmed (Treasurer).

President Islamabad Regional Cricket Association and ICA Shakil Shaikh congratulated all the elected office-bearers of the four Zones of the ICA.

Shaikh termed it a historic development in the Federal Capital and hoped that it would help produce more and more quality cricketers from Islamabad, which has already become hub of round-the-year cricket activities in Islamabad where the country’s best cricket infrastructure is built over the period of time.

For more information, contact:
Nadeem Sarwar
Media Manager
Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB)
Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore 54600, Pakistan
Tel: +9242 571 7231 -4
Fax: +9242 571 1860